Jacob Oulanyah Elected Speaker of the 11th Parliament.


The first seating of Members of the 11th Parliament has seen Omoro County MP Jacob Oulanyah elected as Speaker in a special event held at Kololo Airstrip.

Oulanyah, NRM flagbearer scored a majority vote of 310 votes against Kamuli Woman MP Rebecca Kadaga who garnered 197 and FDC’s, Ibrahim Ssemujju (Kira Municipality) matching out with 15 votes out of the 524 total vote cast.

Even after the NRM Central Executive Committee (CEC) and caucus had chosen Oulanyah as their preferred candidate, Kadaga defied the rule of the game to run as an independent.

To tame Kadagas fraction headed by Hon. Tayebwa Vs the Oulanyah’s team President Museveni confirmed how he spent sleepless nights trying to make midnight calls in search for votes for their official candidate – Jacob Oulanyah.

“You have been with Kadaga but the official party candidate now is Oulanyah” Museveni revealed as he applauded those who listen to his pleas and shifted the goal post in favour of Oulanyah.

However, after the election, Kadaga, flanked by Dokolo Woman MP Cecilia Ogwal, left her to congratulate Oulanyah for the victory. The two exchanged pleasantries amidst cheers from the House which was sitting at Kololo Independence Ground. She left shortly after Oulanyah was declared the winner and did not cast her vote for Deputy Speaker seat. 

The election of Speaker was presided over by the Chief Justice, Alfsonse Dollo Winy in presence of President Yoweri Museveni. 

Shortly after being given instrument of power by the president, Oulanyah presided over the election of Deputy Speaker in accordance with the Parliament Rules of Procedure.

In the race we had, NRM’s Anita Among (Bukedea District), Yusuf Nsibambi (Mawokota South) and Muhammed Nsereko (Kampala Central).

In the wake of event, Anita Among beat the two with wide margin after getting 415 votes against Nserkos 24 votes and Yusuf 25 votes respectively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here